The sanskrit word Chakra means Wheel. We have seven rainbow-coloured chakras which are energetically connected to the spine, starting from the base through to the crown of the head. They move in a whirling motion which attracts the energy around us. It is vital that our chakras remain open and aligned as this helps a smooth flow of our life force, also known as prana. A vibrant prana keeps us healthy, energised and positive.
Each chakra is linked to a specific emotion and nerve centres in the body. The frequency of this energy, whether positive, negative or somewhere in between, affects our thoughts and behaviour, our body and spiritual ‘data’ accordingly.

The Root Chakra (Muladhara)
Colour: Red. It is symbolised by a lotus with four petals.
Stone: Red jasper
This is the first chakra located at the base of the spine which makes us feel grounded. It embraces the first three vertebrae, the bladder and the colon. It symbolises our survival instinct, including money and food, and when energetically open, helps us feel safe and fearless.

The Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)
Colour: Orange. It is represented by a white lotus with six orange petals and a moon crescent in the middle.
Stone: Carnelian
It is the area between the pubic bone and the navel, responsible for our sexual energy, feeling of abundance and creativity.

The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)
Colour: Yellow. It is symbolised by a downward pointing triangle with ten petals.
Stone: Yellow jasper or citrine
This third chakra is located in the upper abdomen and represents our personal energy, control and self-confidence. It is responsible for the pancreas and a proper balancing helps to avoid diabetes.

The Heart Chakra (Anahata)
Colour: Green. The symbol is a circular flower with ten green petals.
Stone: Green aventurine
The heart chakra is in the centre of the chest and serves as a bridge between the lower chakras of matter with the upper ones of spirit. It is the source of love, inner peace and connection.

The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)
Colour: Blue and symbolised with downward pointing triangle with a full moon in the middle and sixteen petals.
Stone: Lapis lazuli
Located in the throat area, this chakra includes the neck and thyroid. It is the source of communication and allows us to express how we truly feel.

The Third-eye Chakra (Ajna)

Colour: Indigo. It is symbolised by a lotus with two petals.
Stone: Clear crystal
The sixth chakra sits between the eyebrows. It symbolises our intuition and ability to think and decide.

The Crown Chakra (Sahaswara)
Colour: Violet. It is represented by a thousand-petaled lotus.
Stone: Amethyst
It is like a crown at the very top of the head. It represents enlightenment, bliss and spiritual connection to the universal energy.

Cleanse and Replenish your Chakras

When there is pain or discomfort in a part of our body, it is a signal to cleanse and realign the related chakra as the prana flow is off-balance. For example, a recurring sore throat indicates a blockage in the throat chakra whereas high blood sugar is related to the solar plexus chakra. Frequent constipation shows a block in the root chakra.
Rebalancing and cleansing chakras is fun. There are many easy ways in which we can shield ourselves from negative energy. There is a method called zip-up in which we visualise a zip from the base of our spine all the way up to the top of our head and … zip it up three times! This might sound too easy, but it works. Another way of realigning our chakras is by visualising them in a straight vertical line with a clockwise circular motion. Just go with the flow until the motion feels even for all the chakras and you feel grounded. The power of visualisation lies in us believing and trusting that it works. It works best when we do it for 21 consecutive days because by the time we complete the cycle, it has become part of our reality and we can already see the improvement at physical, emotional and energetic levels.

We can also do a chakra cleansing to release any unwanted energy that is blocking our prana. I do mine using crystals and incense sticks. I would place a corresponding stone on each chakra, a rose quartz on the heart chakra for instance, and have a sense of what the colour feels like. Is it dull or vibrant? Is it small or wide and strong? For me, the rose quartz feels gentle and loving. I allow the crystal’s energy to do the cleansing and suck away the unhealthy vibrations until the wavelength around my chakra feels vibrant again. Having an incense stick burning in the background helps me relax.

There are many chakra cleansing meditations available on YouTube. The thing about cleansing though is that you have to do it frequently. It’s not a one-off process. We are constantly interacting with people whether it is at home, on the bus, at the shopping mall or at work and their energy affects ours. Even watching TV can change the frequency of our chakras.

When you feel unwell or sad, listen to the signs that your body and mind are giving you about your chakras being out of balance. Try to reverse this situation and replenish your energy again. When your chakras are balanced, you are balanced and happier!